electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2003-02-28 - 2:33 p.m.

Friday Five

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)? Novels. Then magazines. Then nonfiction. Then newspapers. Poetry is last, although I do enjoy it.

2. What is your favorite novel? The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. It's my enduring favorite. I like a lot of other things, but this is the book of my girlhood and will always have a special place in my heart. I re-read it several times a year.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!) I like Billy Wilder's poetry a lot. He's the current United States Poet Laureate. Here's one called Sweet Talk from The Art of Drowning.

Sweet Talk
You are not the Mona Lisa
with that relentless look.
Or Venus borne over the froth
of waves on a pink half shell.
Or an odalisque by Delacroix,
veils lapping at your nakedness.

You are more like the sunlight
of Edward Hopper,
especially when it slants
against the eastern side
of a white clapboard house
in the early hours of the morning,
with no figure standing
at a window in a violet bathrobe,
just the sunlight,
the columns of the front porch,
and the long shadows
they throw down
upon the dark green lawn, baby.

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read? There's so much! I have five different book lists on my Handspring Visor PDA. I can't name just one thing except maybe the Sunday New York Times. I wish I read that each week.

5. What are you currently reading? It's a long list. These are all the books currently sitting on the floor by my bed, most of which I've started or plan to start this weekend:

<-- previous [Fun With Caps] - next [Nothing but the Kitchen Sink] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.