electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2003-02-25 - 12:01 p.m.

Ryan Adams

I think that Ryan Adams's favorite word is "firecracker." I was just listening to Demolition and he says it in one of the songs on that album. Gold has a song called "Firecracker" on it and I'm pretty sure that New York, New York also has the word in its lyrics. Weird.

stars

The Scientist grew up in Raleigh, North Carolina and knew Ryan Adams as part of the local music scene. Enough to say "hey" to each other at shows and parties and to know each other's name. I guess he (Ryan Adams, not The Scientist) used to live in a room in a house that was the size of a closet. Literally. He also had some idea about creating a band where no one knew how to play their instruments (I think that sounds like almost every garage band known to humankind).

I think it was a little weird for The Scientist when he started making it big and appearing in Gap commercials with Willie Nelson and music videos with Elton John. What a different life than getting your PhD and living in the Midwest with a wife and two cats. Plus, I love alt country music, so I bought Gold and ripped Demolition from the library so The Scientist hears his music occasionally.

<-- previous [Icy Hills are Fun] - next [Fun With Caps] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.