electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2003-02-26 - 12:59 p.m.

Fun With Caps

I learned something weird this week. Evidently the screw-on caps common on shampoo, body wash, and other bath products are mostly all the same size.

A couple of months ago The Scientist accidentally dropped my philosophy amazing grace shampoo, bath & shower gel, breaking the plastic cap into several small pieces. It wasn't a big deal at the time because the inner seal was still unbroken so there wasn't a huge mess of shower gel all over the floor or anything.

However, this week I used up the last of my vanilla bath gel and wanted to start using the amazing grace stuff. The no-cap thing suddenly became important. There's nowhere in our shower that water wouldn't get into the bottle if it didn't have a cap so I needed to figure out a replacement.

I started randomly trying caps from other products to see what would fit. To my surprise, almost every cap fit - from Neutrogena T-Gel shampoo to Paula's Choice facial cleanser to nail polish remover.

capless bottle

In the end for both aesthetics and function, I transferred the cap from another philosophy product to the shower gel, put an old Paula's Choice cap rescued from the recycling bag on the Paula's Choice facial cleanser, and the facial cleanser's cap on the philosophy body scrub. All's well that end's well.

lots of caps

<-- previous [Ryan Adams] - next [Friday Five] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.