electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2003-01-17 - 11:38 a.m.

Friday Five

1. Where do you currently work? In front of my computer at my desk in my office in our apartment. Less literally, I work for a Large Company doing online customer documentation (technical writing and information design).

2. How many other jobs have you had and where? I didn't think I've had a lot of jobs until I started listing them. I had assorted babysitting, housecleaning, and general Girl Friday jobs in junior high and high school, worked as a bagger and then a cashier at a grocery store in high school and then during the summers during college, and worked in the Office of Admissions (phone girl, then night calling supervisor), computer labs (lab geek), and the Digital Media Center (web assistant) in college (as well as doing various freelance projects occasionally). After graduation I worked in the Digital Media Center full time as a web designer. I did a work abroad program in the UK a few months after graduation. When I lived in London I worked at a computer studio basically doing the same stuff I had as a computer labbie. I also temped, mostly doing PowerPoint presentations for various companies. When I lived in Edinburgh, Scotland I worked for British Telecom (via Kelly Temporary Agency) doing tech support (but mostly mailing disks to various locations, updating spreadsheets, and surfing the web). Then there was a period of unemployment while I traveled around Europe. When I got back to the U.S. I temped for Pillsbury in one of their internal libraries and also did various freelance web design, writing, and editing projects. One of those turned into a full time job at the University of Minnesota Extension Service doing web design, information design, information architecture, and writing work. I worked there for a couple of years before taking my current job.

3. What do you like best about your job? Working with AR. Organizing information. Making things better. I really like the refining/editing process--someone gives me something in a rough form (or even a not-so-rough form) and then I refine and edit it, helping to synthesize ideas until it's better than it was before. Unfortunately, that's kind of a hard thing to quantify and I'm not sure what that makes me good for professionally. I also like my flexibility, benefits, retirement plan, salary, and bonus.

4. What do you like least about your job? Uh, everything else. My manager, my team leader, my day-to-day grunt work, having to know things about the guts of computers that I couldn't care less about...

5. What is your dream job? Mama. Store owner/proprietor. Cookbook writer. Travel writer. Assistant to someone important (like a CEO or president of a company or university). Personal shopper. Housewares buyer for a major department store. Unemployed (yet independently wealthy) perpetual student. Librarian at a large university. Midwife.

<-- previous [Wouldn't it be nice?] - next [Miscellany] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.