electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-08-30 - 9:07 a.m.

Friday Five.

Man, I suck. I totally planned to write at least one more entry before today, but the week just got away from me. Work has been busy for a change (or rather I've stopped slacking as much) and we've been scrambling around getting ready to go out of town this weekend. We leave today for Houston (via a drive to the Milwaukee airport because flights cost about half as much out of there) and come back on Monday night. We're visiting our new niece (born in May). And her parents too.

stars

1. What's your favorite piece of clothing that you currently own? I go in phases with clothing favorites. My favorite is usually something new that I've just bought. I tend to wear it a bunch of times in a row before it's reduced to the same status as the rest of my clothes. Right now it's a pink three dot tank top I got when I was in the Twin Cities. Pictured here with my new necklace (the pendant is a number of years old, but I didn't have a chain for it for a long time).

tank top & necklace

Although I just put on a red long-sleeved shirt that I bought at the same time as the pink tank and now it might be my favorite. It's freezing in my apartment right now, but it will warm up by this afternoon. I wonder if there's a need for me to take a long-sleeved shirt to Houston? Hmmm, temps in the 90s (F) all week. Probably not.

2. What piece of clothing do you most want to acquire? Maternity clothes! Because that would mean I have a reason to wear them. Other than that, almost anything from J. Jill. There's a long black cardigan sweater that's particularly appealing (and could be worn unbuttoned if I do get pregnant) in their fall catalog.

3. What piece of clothing can you not bring yourself to get rid of? Why? Anything that I like but is too small because I have dreams of fitting into again. The dress I wore to my college graduation fits into that category. My beat-up army shorts because I love them and I have a lot of memories about them (plus they're useful for things like painting). All my professional clothes because I might need them again. Anything with sentimental value (although I'm getting better about giving away things that are completely unflattering like the enormous yellow sweater I used to love--round yellow girl is not really attractive) because I end up tying my emotional response to the past with the clothes I was wearing.

4. What piece of clothing do you look your best in? Something black, fitted (but not tight), and simple. I have a few skirts that meet that criteria right now. Paired with black tights (or fishnets if I'm going out at night), tall black leather boots, a splash of color on top, and my black leather jacket. Fall is my favorite season for many reasons, and one of them is I've always loved fall clothing.

5. What has been your biggest fashion accident? That's easy. It's documented, unfortunately. Prom my junior year in high school. Bad dress, bad hair, bad shoes, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad. I really wish I could have a do-over for that one. Ok date, though. The next year I looked good, but I didn't have a date then, as such. But that's another story.

<-- previous [Family weekend.] - next [Labor Day weekend.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.