electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-08-09 - 9:51 a.m.

Friday Five.

So, my in-laws were in town last week, The Scientist was out of town this week, and now we're going to the Twin Cities this weekend because my mom and youngest brother J.R. are coming down to get J.R. settled in to start college. More next week.

1. Do you have a car? If so, what kind of car is it? Yes. In fact we have a new car, a Mazda Protegé5. Speaking of the new car, I just put the first ding in it. I misjudged a u-turn trying to grab the parking spot in front of our apartment building (we have to park on the street and it can be a pain in the ass) when I was late for a phone meeting and scraped the right edge of the bumper. Luckily our bumper is plastic, so it was mostly cosmetic damage, not something that would cause rust. I finally told The Scientist when he came back from his business trip on Wednesday night and his response was, "Oh, I'd already seen that last week when I was washing the car." So I asked, "Why didn't you say anything?" He answered, "Well, I thought I might have done it." That's my boy! Needless to say, he wasn't mad.

2. Do you drive very often? Probably on average once a day or less. I have to say that often The Scientist drives when we go somewhere together. Not always. I would blame the fact that I used to have to drive for a total of two and a half hours per day when I was doing my Terrible Commute, but looking back he probably drove more before that too. I used to be the girl who drove everywhere, even with boyfriends (probably because it was always my car). I like to think that I feel more secure with The Scientist and therefore don't need the control of being the driver. Really, I'm just lazy. Although sometimes his driving can be a little erratic and then I bitch about it. Maybe I should drive more often.

3. What's your dream car? I have lots of dream cars! My attainable dream car is the MINI. I love the MINI. I've also always wanted an Austin-Healey bug-eyed Sprite (red) and a Willys-Overland Jeepster (yellow). As far as sports cars go, probably a Porsche.

Bug Eyed Sprite
Jeepster

4. Have you ever received a ticket? Yes. Twice. The first time was when I was 17. The parents didn't like that one. The second time was last year during the Terrible Commute. Come on, if I'm driving for an hour and fifteen minutes one way (almost all freeway/highway driving), I'm going to speed. Neither was so bad I got points taken of my license or went broke paying for them.

5. Have you ever been in an accident? Yes. My first accident was when I was three and a half years old. My parents were hit by a 15 year old with no driver's license and no insurance. My parents were driving a brown Volkswagon Rabbit. Not a big car. And my mom was 8 months pregnant with my brother J.K. Everything turned out fine, but the first person at the hospital used the wrong kind of gel for the ultrasound and said, "I'm not getting a heartbeat," which immediately sent my mom into full panic mode. My brother was fine, though. He was born a little late (my mom says he was afraid and didn't want to come out) but otherwise ok. Besides that, I've been in a few fender-benders. Nothing where anyone but the car got injured, though. Tallying them up would make me depressed, so I'm not going to.

<-- previous [Job stuff.] - next [Two weeks ago. Last week. This week.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.