electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-06-03 - 1:33 p.m.

Bits and Bites

Ripped from Sherry who got if from Lynda who got it from Dreama and so on. I don't technically have a blog, but I'm doing it anyway. Mostly because the other stuff in my head (Boston) hasn't sorted itself out enough to write about yet.

Bits and pieces you probably don't know about me.

1. What time do you wake up in the morning?
The Scientist actually has to leave the house to go to work, so his alarm goes off at 7:30. I wake up then, but usually fall back asleep and get up sometime after 8 (8:15 or so). Today it was 8:45, though, because a very loud thunderstorm kept us both up intermittently from 4:30 a.m. to almost 7 a.m.

2. If you could eat lunch with one famous person, who would it be?
This is difficult. Living or dead? World leader? Famous actor? Writer? Right this minute, it would be Joss Wheadon. Tomorrow, who knows?

3. Gold or silver?
Silver. Well, platinum, really.

4. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
The Sum of All Fears on Saturday night. We both liked it.

5. Favorite TV show?
Buffy. Also Six Feet Under, Sex and the City, Queer as Folk, The West Wing, and Nigella Bites (which I can't watch anymore because we don't get the Style network).

6. What do you have for breakfast?
Dannon yogurt (always) and something else that rotates between toast (with hummus or plum fruit spread, depending on my mood), oatmeal, or cereal. Today it was shredded wheat (the plain kind, no frosting) with Vanilla Rice Dream (not milk).

7. What would you hate to be left in a room with?
Rodents of any kind. Particularly ones of unusual size. The rat scene in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade really squicked me out.

8. Can you touch your nose with your tongue?
No.

9. Who inspires you?
Another hard one. My family. The Scientist. My friends. The thought of our unborn children. Myself.

10. What's your middle name?
Ann.

11. Beach or city?
Both. Beach for relaxation, city for stimulation.

12. Summer or winter?
Summer.

13. Favorite ice cream?
Chocolate and peanut butter.

14. Buttered, plain or salted popcorn?
It depends. For movie theater popcorn, I like plain (it's got enough on it as-is). For air-popped popcorn that I make at home, butter and salt.

15. Favorite color?
Purple.

16. Favorite car?
MINI!

17. Favorite sandwich?
Turkey with avocado, lettuce, tomato, and provolone cheese on wheat bread with some kind of funky herby mayo.

18. True love?
Yes.

19. What characteristics do you despise?
Deceitfulness, manipulation. Basically, lying to yourself and others.

20. Favorite flower?
Almost anything bright and colorful.

21. If you had a big win on the lottery, how long before you told people?
30 seconds! I'd be shrieking at the top of my lungs and calling everyone I know.

22. Fizzy or still water as a drink?
Still water. I try to drink lots of water during the day so I'm usually carting around my 1 liter purple Nalgene bottle. The only things I drink with carbonation are beer and champagne.

23. What color is your bathroom?
The walls are white on top with ugly wood paneling on the bottom half. Our tub is beige. Sink and toilet are white. Floor is scarred and burned yellow and white vinyl. Ugly, ugly, ugly. I've added a white "rice paper" shower curtain from Target and a large white floor mat to cover most of the ugly floor (it's a tiny room). I pretty much hate our bathroom.

24. How many keys on your key ring?
My key chain separates into several rings that all attach to the center piece. On one ring is the car key and remote for the car alarm, on another is the key to our apartment and the key to my luggage lock, on another is my mini swiss army knife, on another is the key to my aunt and uncle's house, and on yet another is the key to my bike lock. I usually only carry around the first two parts, though, which have 3 keys plus the remote.

25. Where would you retire to?
Northern Spain. The Caribbean. Hawaii. Vancouver

26. Can you juggle, if yes how many?
Yes. I had to learn to juggle raw eggs in my 8th grade science class. No really. We were graded on it. These days I use tennis balls and I can juggle three at a time.

27. Favorite day of the week?
I like weekend mornings when I don't have to get up for anything. I stay in bed reading a book until The Scientist (who gets up by 9 no matter what) can't stand it any more and makes me get up and go out. I also like Sunday evenings when I watch Six Feet Under and Queer as Folk back-to-back, then go to bed to read before falling asleep.

28. Red or white wine?
Depends on the season. I like white (Pinot Grigio) for spring and summer and red (Merlot) for fall and winter.

29. What did you do for your last birthday?
I went to work. We were in the middle of a big deadline, so I even stayed late. When I finally got home The Scientist had made me dinner (salmon) and had a candle in a Reese's peanut butter cup for me to blow out, as well as a surprise present (odd-sized measuring cups that I now use all the time).

30. Do you hold a donor card? What kind of donor card?
My driver's license has the organ donor sticker on it. The Scientist and I have both let our families know that we'd like to donate all possible organs when we die.

31. Say one thing about the person who sent this to you.
It wasn't sent to me--I stole it from Sherry. I enjoy reading her journal and weblog. It's been fun to read about her model pregnancy and her life in Canada.

32. Who do you least expect to send this back to you?
I'm not sending this to anyone so I would be surprised if anyone sends it back to me! However, it's entirely possible that I will get it from someone I know who forwards things to me all the time. Usually of a religous chain-letter nature. This would be a welcome change.

<-- previous [Friday Five and going to Boston] - next [Funny cat.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.