electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2003-02-07 - 11:35 a.m.

Friday Five

1. What did you have for breakfast this morning? If you didn't have breakfast, why not? I had a slice of homemade pumpkin bread that I made earlier in the week and a Dannon cherry yogurt.

2. What's your favorite cereal? Back when I drank cow's milk it was Crispix. Now that I drink rice milk I've found that most cereals don't taste good with the rice milk flavor. Plus, my doctor told me to eat more fiber. So now I have Shredded Wheat and Bran if anything.

3. How often do you eat out? Do you want that to change? We eat out twice a week. Sometimes less, sometimes more. Usually there's one take-out meal during the week and one weekend night out. I think it works pretty well for us. We definitely eat out less when I've planned dinners for the week, rather than having to think them up each night on the fly. Our kitchen is always pretty well stocked, so we don't usually have a problem with ingredients, just motivation.

4. What do you plan on having for dinner tonight? Got a recipe for that? I made Quick Corn & Seafood Chowder last night and cut the hell out of my finger while doing it. The knife slipped when I was cutting up the onion. I have plans for a girls night out with K. tonight, but if I didn't I would be eating leftover chowder (it makes a huge pot). The recipe is as follows:

Quick Shrimp-and-Corn Soup
from Cooking Light magazine, makes 8 servings

Ingredients:
cooking spray or olive oil
1 cup chopped onion (I just use 1/2 an onion)
1 chopped green pepper
1 minced garlic clove
3/4 cup (6oz.) reduced fat cream cheese, softened (I use a regular sized package which I think is 8oz.)
2 cups fat-free milk
1 can cream-style corn
1 can condensed reduced-fat, reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup (undiluted)
1 can diced tomatoes and green chiles, undrained (these can be bought regular spicy or extra spicy)
1 � lbs. medium shrimp, peeled and deveined (I just used peeled, deveined, frozen shrimp with the tails removed); I also sometimes throw in any leftover seafood I have or any random mushrooms or veggies that are kicking around, particularly some extra frozen corn
4 teaspoons green onions

Instructions:
Heat a Dutch oven or large saucepan coated with cooking spray or a tablespoon or so of olive oil (if I don't have garlic in the house I'll use garlic-infused olive oil). Add onion, bell pepper, garlic, and any other veggies and saute 5 minutes. Stir in softened cream cheese; reduce heat and cook until cheese is melted (you need to stir frequently during this step). Add milk, creamed corn, mushroom soup, and tomatoes. Cook 10 minutes stirring occasionally. Bring milk mixture to a boil. Add shrimp (and other seafood; I also add the frozen corn here). Cook 5 minutes or until shrimp/seafood is cooked. Remove from heat. Sprinkle each serving (or the whole pot if you're lazy like me) with green onions.

5. What's your favorite restaurant? Why? Here it's Bluephies because they have good, yet moderately priced food. Back in the Twin Cities my favorite quick/cheap place was Cafe Latte, but there were tons of other places I liked. Probably my favorite special occasion place was Lucia's in Uptown. Favorite Midwest sushi is Sushi Tango in Minneapolis (I've never eaten really, really fresh West Coast sushi, but this is the best I've had in a non-coastal area). Back in Anchorage, my favorite expensive place is Simon and Seafort's. Mmmm.

<-- previous [Private Lesson] - next [Friday Five and Valentine's Day] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.