electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-12-16 - 2:05 p.m.

100 Things

I'm borrowing from Athena, Elizabeth, and a whole bunch of people today. It's Monday.

1. Are you an innie or an outie?
Innie.

2. Have you ever worn bell-bottoms?
Yes. And more recently, flares. Only small ones, though. I do not like my pants to taper in at the ankles.

3. Have you ever written a song?
No. I do sometimes make up things and sing them (usually to the tune of some existing song).

4. Can you make change for a dollar right now?
Yes. We fill up a metal bank with our change until a day when we're desperate for money (or it fills up, but usually desperate for money comes first) and then cash it in. One time it was a couple hundred dollars, but it's much less now that we need to use our quarters for laundry.

5. Have you ever been in the opposite sex's public toilet?
Yes. On purpose, nonetheless.

6. Have you ever smelled your own feet?
Yes.

7. Do you like ketchup on or beside your french fries?
Beside. But I prefer ranch dressing with my fries.

8. Can you touch your tongue to your nose?
No.

9. Have you ever been a boy/girl scout?
No. I always thought the Boy Scouts got to do way cooler stuff than the Girl Scouts. The Scientist was a Boy Scout for many years, though. We now have discussions about whether our future progeny will be allowed to join the Scouts. I have serious problems with their no-gays-allowed policy.

10. Have you ever broken a mirror?
I don't think so.

11. Have you ever put your tongue on a frozen pole?
No. Since I grew up in Alaska, we got many grade school lectures on Don't Lick a Pole During Winter. Really, we did.

12. What is your biggest pet peeve?
Slow drivers (except in a snow/ice/rain storm), slow customers (in front of me), and basically waiting of any kind.

13. Do you slurp your drink after it's gone?
I slurp a drink to get the last of it, but only if it's a milkshake.

14. Have you ever blown bubbles in your milk?
Yes.

15. Would you rather eat a Big Mac or a Whopper?
Whopper. No onions and I usually pick the lettuce off.

16. Have you ever gone skinny-dipping?
Yes.

17. When you are at the grocery store, do you ask for paper or plastic?
Usually plastic because we use them for trash bags.

18. True or False: You would rather eat steak than pizza.
True.

19. Did you have a baby blanket?
Yes, but I didn't drag it everywhere.

20. Have you ever tried to cut your own hair?
Yes, both as a child and then later as a teenager and then even later as an adult. Once when I had short hair and was broke and living in London, I cut off the mullet my hair had turned into with sewing scissors and a complicated arrangement of mirrors. It actually didn't turn out half bad (unlike other times).

21. Have you ever sleepwalked?
No.

22. Have you ever had a birthday party at McDonalds?
I don't think so. One of my brothers may have, though.

23. Can you flip your eye-lids up?
Ew, gross. No.

24. Are you double jointed?
No.

25. If you could be any age, what age would you be?
24.

26. Have you ever gotten gum stuck in your hair?
No. I hate gum. I don't chew it and I don't like it when people around me are chewing it. The Scientist has been banned from gum in my presence. Luckily he doesn't really care one way or another.

27. Have you ever thrown-up after a roller coaster ride?
No. I used to like roller coasters a lot. Not so much anymore.

28. What is your dream car?
MINI!

29. What is your favorite cartoon of all time?
I'm not really into cartoons. I used to like the X-Men.

30. Would you go swimming in shallow waters where, one year earlier, a shark had attacked a child?
Yes. Unless it was cold. I only swim outside when it's really hot.

32. Have you ever eaten a dog biscuit?
No. Although they are safe for human consumption (in case you wondered).

33. If you were in a car sinking in a lake, what would you do first?
Break the window (or roll it down if that were possible).

34. Have you ever ridden in an ambulance?
No. I have been to the emergency room several times, though.

35. Can you pick something up with your toes?
Yes.

36. How many remote controls do you have in your house?
Two for the cable boxes, two for the TVs, one for the VCR, one for the TiVo, one for the video camera, two for the DVD players, one master remote, and one for the iPod. Oh, and one for the air conditioner. Twelve. There are probably more that I'm forgetting.

37. Have you ever fallen asleep in school?
Yes.

38. How many times have you flown in an airplane in the last year?
To and from Hawaii in February, to and from Alaska in July, and next week to Alaska (from will happen in 2003). So, five by the end of the year.

39. How many foreign countries have you visited?
Nine: Canada, Mexico, French West Indies, Dutch West Indies, Great Britain, France, Spain, Morocco, and Portugal. I feel like this list should be longer. Am I forgetting somewhere?

40. If you were out of shape, would you compete in a triathlon if you were somehow guaranteed to win a big, gaudy medal?
No. The humiliation would not be worth it.

41. Would you rather be rich and unhappy, or poor and happy?
Well, I think it's easier to be rich and happy, but if I had to choose, poor and happy.

42. If you fell into quicksand, would you try to swim or try to float?
Float.

44. Do you ask for directions when you are lost?
Yes.

45. Have you ever had a Mexican jumping bean?
No. And I don't plan to.

46. Are you more like Cinderella or Alice in Wonderland?
Alice in Wonderland. Actually, Belle from Beauty and the Beast (the Disney cartoon version).

47. Would you rather have an ant farm with no ants or a box of crayons with broken points?
Crayons.

48. Do you prefer light or dark bread?
Dark bread. Light if it's sourdough.

49. Do you prefer scrambled or fried eggs?
Scrambled.

50. Have you ever been in a car that ran out of gas?
Sort of. I parked my car one night knowing that I was almost out of gas and when I tried to drive it to work in the morning discovered that I had run out of gas while my car sat still (and off) overnight. I don't know if it evaporated, settled out of the lines, or what, but I had to call a friend to take me to the gas station so I could put a $40 deposit down on that stupid red can, fill my tank enough to get back to the gas station, and then actually fill my tank. It wasn't even that I didn't have the money or that i didn't pass a gas station, I was just being lazy.

51. Do you talk in your sleep?
Not while I'm deeply asleep, but I will say incomprehensible things when I'm almost but not quite awake.

52. Would you rather shovel snow or mow the lawn?
Shovel snow. I'm allergic to grass.

53. Would you rather be bitten by a poisonous snake or constricted by a python?
Bitten. I have issues with being pinned down or constricted in any way.

54. Have you ever played in the rain?
Yes.

55. Which do you think is more dangerous: an angry bear or a hungry white shark?
Bear.

56. Would you climb a very high tree to save a kitten?
Yes. It would probably be more effective to open a can of tuna at the bottom of the tree, though.

57. Can you tell the difference between a crocodile and an alligator?
No.

58. Do you drink pepsi or coke?
Neither. I don't drink soda.

59. What's your favorite number?
6.

60. If you were a car, would you be an SUV or a sports car?
Sports car.

61. Have you ever accidentally taken something from a hotel?
Accidentally, no. On purpose, yes. But nothing I wasn't supposed to (just the complimentary toiletries).

62. Would you blow your nose at the dinner table?
No.

63. Have you ever slipped in the bathtub?
Yes. I slipped while shaving and cut a huge chunk out of my shin.

64. Do you use regular or deodorant soap?
I use fancy girly scented soap that I pay way too much for or fancy girly scented soap my friend A. makes and gives me for free.

65. Have you ever locked yourself out of the house?
No. My brother used to, though.

66. Would you rather make your living as a singing cowboy or as one of the Simpson's voices?
Simpson's voices!

67. If you could invite any movie star to your home for dinner, who would it be?
George Clooney.

68. Have you ever gotten a truck driver to honk his horn?
No.

69. Which would you rather live with: a huge nose or crossed eyes?
Huge nose.

70. Would you hang out with someone your best friend didn't like?
Sure, but not when she was along.

71. Would you hang out with someone your best friend liked, but you didn't like?
It depends. Am I visiting from another state? If so, I probably don't have much choice.

72. Have you ever returned a gift?
Yes, tons of times. I have no shame. I've never returned something from a good friend, though.

73. Would you give someone else a gift that had been given to you?
No. I don't believe in re-gifting.

74. If you could attend an Olympic Event, what would it be?
Pairs ice skating.

75. How many pairs of shoes do you own?
I'm not sure. A lot. Enough that they have to rotate seasonally.

76. If your grandmother gave you a gift that you already have, would you tell her?
No. I would return it though and buy something else (and then pretend that the one I already have was the one she gave me).

77. Do you sing in the car?
Yes. Frequently.

78. Would you rather jump into a dumpster or into a vat of honey?
Am I getting money for this? Honey.

79. What is your favorite breed of dog?
Something small and frisky. Probably a terrier of some kind. I'm not really a dog person, though.

80. Would you donate money to feed starving animals in the winter?
What kind of starving animals? I mean, there are animals like deer that starve because of overpopulation. I'd rather see those animals hunted for food rather than fed so they can just get killed by a car on the freeway. I would also rather work to conserve large open spaces as forest/animal preserves than feed individual animals. I believe in natural selection, but habitat pressure has stressed so many populations and driven them to (or close to) extinction that I think it's a much bigger problem than one animal not being able to find food in winter. Besides, feeding the animals makes them depend on humans to survive and often animals that are fed by humans become either dangerous (in the case of bears or other carnivores) or a pest (deer, raccoons, squirrels).

81. If you were a bicycle, would you be a stingray or a mountain bike?
Stingray.

82. What is your least favorite fruit?
Pears.

83. What kind of fruit have you never had?
Pomegranates.

84. If you won a $5,000 shopping spree to any store, which store would you pick?
Bricks-and-mortar, Marshall Fields or Pottery Barn. Online, Amazon.com.

85. What brand sports apparel do you wear the most?
It used to be Nike, but now I'm much more equal opportunity. Is it on sale? Does it fit? Then I wear it.

86. Are/were you a good student?
Yes.

87. Among your friends, who could you arm wrestle and beat?
I could beat all my college roommates (none of them weighs more than 115) but The Best Friend could kick my ass.

88. If you had to choose, what branch of the military would you be in?
Air Force like my dad.

89. Would you ever parachute out of a plane?
Theoretically. I don't think I ever actually will, though.

90. What do you think is your best feature?
My eyes.

91. If you were to win a grammy, what kind of music would it be for?
Off key indie rock/girl with guitar folk.

92. What is your favorite season?
Autumn.

93. How many members do you have in your immediate family?
I guess The Scientist and I are our own immediate family now (two), but my family-of-origin (a term I learned in pre-marital counseling) has five people (me, two brothers, and the 'rents).

94. Which of the five senses is most important to you?
Sight.

95. Would you be a more successful painter or singer?
Painter. I can't carry a tune.

97. How many years will/did you end up going to college?
Four for undergraduate and an aborted year in graduate school.

98. Have you ever had surgery?
Yes. I had my wisdom teeth out when I was 19 and then a tonsillectomy when I was 20 or 21 (I can't remember).

99. Would you rather be a professional figure skater or professional football player?
Tennis player! I guess football player after that. Or a soccer star.

100. What do you like to collect?
Bowls. Dishes of all kinds. I used to collect frogs, but I've cooled off on that. Greeting cards. I'd like to collect some interesting dragons. Books.

<-- previous [More Snippets] - next [Christmas Blahs] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.