electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-08-23 - 9:36 a.m.

Friday Five.

1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not? I am a staff software engineer and information designer and writer for a Big Company. I don't know if I chose this per say, but it is what I went to school for and it is a job that I interviewed for and was happy to get at the time. Since then, I have changed my mind somewhat. I wrote a whole entry about my job dissatisfaction recently.

2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be? Professional loafer. Wedding planner. Architect. Professional book reader. Actress. Editor. Chef. Personal shopper. Writer. Mama. I have a lot of dream careers, as you can see.

3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices? My dad is in the military (about to become a general) and my mom is a preschool teacher now but was a stay-at-home mom when I was growing up. I don't think that either of their careers have had any influence on mine, except that they taught me to value education.

4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family? Not yet, but it's something I think about a lot. I'm not that ambitious career-wise, but at the same time I feel leery of defining myself entirely through my yet-to-be-conceived child/children. Well, that and going back to being a single-income family with even more expenses. In my secret heart, I'd love to stay home with my kids, but I'd also be terrible at the financial sacrifice that would entail. It's going to be a difficult choice for us.

5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why? Easiest job: parking lot attendant. You get to loaf, read, make change, and sit. Hardest job: junior high school teacher. You are underappreciated, underpaid, overworked, and managing junior high school kids (let alone teaching them anything) is completely daunting to me.

<-- previous [Paint my toes.] - next [Family weekend.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.