electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-07-26 - 9:15 a.m.

Friday Five.

I'm working on an entry about job stuff and life choices. For now, here's the Friday Five.

1. How long have you had a weblog? Uh, actually I cheat. I have a journal, but I do the Friday Five anyway. Although sometimes my journal entries are short enough to be bloggish. I participate because I like reading other people's answers and it's a good motivator for me to write something on the really crazy weeks.

2. What was your first post about? It was short, so here it is in its entirety.

And so it begins.

I've wanted to start writing like this for a while, but haven't. Maybe I've been too busy reading what other people are writing. Maybe I've been scared to. Maybe I didn't know what would come out if I sat down and started typing.

But here I am.

3. How many changes (name, location, etc.) of your weblog have there been, if more than one? None, although I originally intended to use my own domain name rather than diaryland. I still may switch (maybe when I run out of image-hosting space) but for now I'm ok with diaryland.

4. What CMS (content management system) do you use? Do you like it or do you want to try something else?? See above. Diaryland. If I was using my own domain name I might try something like Greymatter, but frankly it scares me. I come from the old-school HTML world where I create each page on its own (usually based on another page with the appropriate cutting and pasting) and then ftp to my ISP's server space. But I do use HTML editors. Homesite for straight-text work and Dreamweaver for image/layout work.

5. Do you read people who have both a journal and a weblog? Or do you prefer to read people who have all of their writing in one central place? Yes, I read people who have both. I don't mind it--it's nice to read snippets of their writing each day but still get the longer journal entries every so often. I like it when they link to the new journal entry from the blog. That way I can bookmark one, but not miss anything on the other. My bookmarks are out of control, even though I organize them every couple of weeks.

stars

Another stolen survey-type thing.

10 Years Ago, I...
... drove a red 1985 Chevy S-10 pickup truck
... was in my senior year of high school in Anchorage, Alaska
... worked at a local grocery store
... lied to my parents about where I was at night
... was in love with a guy who broke my heart several times

5 Years Ago, I...
... drove a red 1995 Dodge Neon
... was in my last year of college at the U of MN - Twin Cities
... wanted to run away to Belize and decided to move to the UK for six months instead
... dated unsuitable men
... had five roommates (sometimes)

1 Year Ago, I...
... got married to The Scientist
... was living in St. Paul, MN
... was just figuring out my new job
... was taking classes towards a master's degree
... decided the master's program wasn't for me and quit taking classes

Yesterday, I...
... read the second book going backwards through the Liaden series (actually the second to last book, if that makes any sense)
... heard very loud, long, rumbling thunder
... went out in search of carrot cake at 9:30 p.m., but failed to get any (the co-op closed at 9)
... finished the Far North entry (finally)
... made dinner for me and The Scientist

Today, I...
... am tired
... am dreading work
... was awoken by misbehaving cats a number of times before 6:00 a.m.
... haven't taken a shower yet
... need to prep for my 10:00 meeting

Tomorrow, I will...
... sleep in
... play tennis with The Scientist
... plan our menus for his parents' visit next week
... go shopping
... see a movie (not Goldmember)

<-- previous [Random.] - next [Friday Five and excuses.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.