electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-07-25 - 12:15 p.m.

Random.

Some random stuff for your reading pleasure.

stars

The other day I went to Wal-Mart (which deserves a digression in itself--on one hand, I feel bad because I know Wal-Mart has some questionable business practices with suppliers and pricing and squashes unions, but on the other hand, everything's just so cheap that I continue to go there for boring staple goods...although I still go to Target when I want stylish stuff) and as I was pulling into the parking lot I noticed the ass-brown minivan in front of me had the following personalized license plate: GRCY GTR. I mean, come on. The driver was a blonde mom-type (not uncommon in the suburbs of the Midwest). It's one things to have kids, stay home with them, drive a minivan, and to be the primary grocery-getter in the family. It's another thing to personalize your dogshit brown minivan's license plate with it. I mean, you already are a walking stereotype, at least try to maintain some sense of dignity and respect for yourself. I was outraged at the clichedness of it all, while at the same time feeling sorry for the woman who identified herself to the public as GRCY GTR. It sounds cheesy, but shouldn't she be more than that as a person? Of course, I'm extrapolating wildly based on a personalized license plate, but still.

stars

I was at the post office the other day, waiting patiently in line (it was a short line) when I noticed a woman in a blue uniform at the counter. On the customer side. A blue FedEx uniform. The FedEx woman was giving a package to the postal worker, asking him to sign for it. When she left, one of the other customers asked the postal worker what we were all thinking. What the heck was FedEx doing delivering mail to the United States Postal Service? The postal guy laughed and said that one of their suppliers (presumably for the commercial stuff the post office sells like boxes and stationary) uses FedEx to deliver the supplies. !!! Now, if you were the United States Postal Service, wouldn't you write it into your contract that your suppliers had to use you as their mail delivery service (at least when mailing things to you)? And if you were the United States Postal Service's supplier, wouldn't you send everything by US Mail just on principle? I, and my fellow line-waiters, were all amazed at the whole thing. Yes, people, this is real life experienced first hand. Not friend-of-a-friend urban myth.

stars

Stolen from someone else's blog:

Your Star Wars First Name:
1: Take the first 3 letters of your last name.
2: Add to that, the first 2 letters of your first name.

Your Star Wars Last Name:
1: Take the first 2 letters of your mother's maiden name.
2: Add to that the first 3 letters of the name of the town or city you were born in.

I am Ramal Flanc. I think it sounds kind of dirty. Just think of the nickname. Ram Flanc. Kinky! It's the little things that keep me amused with life.

stars

The Scientist and I saw Reign of Fire last weekend. Christian Bale is my new celebrity crush. He is a fine specimen of manhood in the movie. All grungy and muscley and hotly accented. Mmmmm. As for the movie, well it was visually cool, had major plot holes, but enjoyable nonetheless. Perhaps less so if you don't find Christian Bale white hot (say, if you're Roger Ebert).

<-- previous [Back from the Far North. Warning: monster entry!] - next [Friday Five.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.