electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-06-25 - 11:51 a.m.

DVD bonanza.

Netflix rocks my world. It has totally solved the "we're at Blockbuster and can't decide what to rent" dilemma as well as the "what was the name of that movie I wanted to see that one time?" problem. Not to mention the "oh shit, another late fee" issue. The Scientist was skeptical about it at first. I had to break down and do a little math. Average number of DVD rentals per month plus average late fees subtract Netflix monthly membership and look we save money! Saving money is a Good Thing in our world.

We just returned From Hell and Crazy/Beautiful. I spent twenty minutes this morning reordering my rental queue. Do I want all of the Sex and the City 2nd season DVDs back-to-back? Interspersed with movies? Do I alternate my picks with The Scientist's? Where did that random movie come from?

Here's what our rental queue looks like right now.

DVDs in Your Queue

  1. Vanilla Sky
  2. Hang the VJ
  3. Something Wicked This Way Comes
  4. Lain #1: Navi
  5. The Arrival
  6. X-Men: Sanctuary
  7. Where the Money Is
  8. Sex & the City: Second Season Disc 2
  9. X-Men: Reunion
  10. Mary Reilly
  11. Sex & the City: Second Season Disc 3
  12. Fast Times at Ridgemont High
  13. The Sopranos: The First Season: Disc 1
  14. Choose Me
  15. The Sopranos: The First Season: Disc 2
  16. Magnolia
  17. Spiritualized: Electricity/Come Together
  18. For Love of the Game
  19. The Sopranos: The First Season: Disc 3
  20. Go
  21. The Sopranos: The First Season: Disc 4
  22. Bye Bye Birdie
  23. Saving Grace
  24. Little Voice
  25. Tea with Mussolini
  26. Out of Sight
  27. Tomb Raider
  28. Pitch Black
  29. The Thomas Crown Affair
  30. Ocean's 11

DVDs Awaiting Release

  1. Y Tu Mam� Tambien

It's an eclectic list. The first five are Very Long Waits, so I'm expecting the X-Men cartoon (my pick) and Where the Money Is (The Scientist's pick) to head our way this week. I've noticed that I buy a lot fewer DVDs now that things I haven't seen (as well as old favorites) arrive in the mail almost every week.

Not that it stopped me from buying Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (widescreen) and Say Anything... recently.

<-- previous [With the band.] - next [Friday Five.] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.