electricbitch home

today's bitch

archive

archive

email me

Get your own diary at Diaryland.com

[ Registered ]


In Association with Amazon.com

2002-05-17 - 10:39 a.m.

I don't have much to say today. I've enjoyed reading these from other people, so here's my Friday Five.

  1. What shampoo do you use?
     
    I used to use only Aveda products but since I became more money-conscious (conscious that I don't have unlimited money and should spend less) I've been switching brands. Lately it's been Suave Professionals Awapuhi Shampoo (as good as Paul Mitchell Awapuhi Shampoo--or so the bottle says). Before that it was either Kiehl's Klaus Heidegger's All-Sport Everyday Shampoo or Kiehl's Lecithin Conditioning Shampoo, but those are also expensive. Hence, the Suave. Plus, it's nice to be able to pick up shampoo at Target instead of a salon, department store, or boutique.
     
  2. Do you use conditioner? What kind?
     
    I always use conditioner. My hair is fine and tangles easily so unless I want to set myself up for a world of pain, I'm all about conditioner. I have the same issues as above for shampoo--I'm still using up my bottle of Aveda Sap Moss Conditioner and I'm also using the Suave Professionals Awapuhi Conditioner. I tend to alternate based on how dry my hair feels. I sometimes add a little Kiehl's Silk Groom if my hair feels particularly dry (but only to the ends or I end up a greaseball).
     
  3. When was the last time you got your hair cut?
     
    Wow. It's been months. I just looked at my calendar--Friday, February 8th, 2002. Since it's now mid-May, that's way too long for me. But I'm getting my hair cut next week...in Boston! Yes, that's right, I'm flying from the midwest to the east coast for a hair cut. Well, really it's to visit my friend M. The hair cut is an extra-special bonus. It's with her fantastic hair man--I'm hoping he can make me look much better than I do now. I'm at that stage. You know the stage. Grow it out? Cut it off? That stage. I hate that stage, but I seem to be there all the time. I grow my hair out and get sick of it. I cut it off and then wish I had long hair again. Right now it's kind of a long bob. Boring.
     
  4. What styling products do you use?
     
    I used to use a lot more. Now that I work at home, I let my hair air-dry and then enhance the curl with Peter Häntz Bounce Bak Curl Reactivator. My friend A. gave me a 1 liter bottle of the stuff--I don't know what I'm going to do when that runs out! If I'm going out I may use some Aveda Firmata hair spray. I'm hoping the Boston Hair Man will also help me update my products (but not spend a fortune). Now, if you asked me what styling products do I own, that would be a completely different answer!
     
  5. What's your worst hair-related experience?
     
    There have been many. No one experience stands out as the ultimate humiliation, though. There was the growing-out-of-jet-black-dye. The oh-shit-my-hair-is-orange experience (remedied by a quick trip to the grocery store for brown dye to cover it up--so bad for my hair, but showing up to high school with orange hair that wasn't punk-rock orange hair would have been worse). The mullet hair (mostly from when I put off getting my hair cut for too long--my fault, not the stylist's). The my-mom-put-my-hair-in-hotrollers hair (yech). The I-cut-my-own-hair moments (starting at age 3 and continuing through high school). The too-short-bangs hair. The terrible prom hair. That hair is of course immortalized in pictures. Having bad prom hair is when I learned the value of a good stylist for important occasions. One hair trauma I never experienced was a perm. For which I am eternally grateful.
     

<-- previous [Probably not.] - next [Episode II: Attack of the Clones] -->

Recommend my diary to a friend.